My TIIDElab Experience 1.0

My TIIDElab Experience 1.0

Today makes it a month since starting the TIIDElab fellowship cohort three as a front-end developer. The experience has been worthwhile. Getting into TIIDElab is something I thank God for. It was a daunting task, from the entry task to the interview. I did the entry task, passed, and was invited to the in-person interview. I interviewed with the programs coordinator Mr. Shamsuddin and two of the fellowship tutors/mentors - Mr. Solomon and Mr. Kenny.

The interview was interesting and I couldn't wait to be part of the cohort to get mentored by these remarkable experts. I got my congratulatory mail a couple of days later and my joy knew no bounds. I was finally a TIIDElab fellow. The days went by quickly but were characterized by the onboarding sessions, daily meetups, and understanding the cohort principles and rules.

I got accustomed to the fellowship schedule pretty fast and the learning curve after two weeks was mind-blowing. Seeing myself go from a complete newbie to someone that can write codes for the web was spectacular. A typical day at TIIDElab includes taking a 20 minutes test by 9:00 am, and joining the morning meet-up by 10 am, this will last till 4 pm with a 1hour break and an hour peer learning session.

The first four weeks were HTML/CSS and data structure/algorithm classes. I learned how to properly structure the web page using HTML and how to beautify the page using CSS. I also learned version control using git and Github and hosting using Netlify. At the end of the four weeks, we learned a lot and were given a project. we were tasked with building a personal portfolio site. This is my portfolio site hosted on Netlify and a link to my Github repository.

port.JPG Apart from the technical aspects like coding we also learned soft skills such as collaboration and interviewing. We had mentors such as Mr. Saheed Adepoju a senior Nvidia California lecture us about best practices and how to get interviewed by the top companies abroad. Friday's of the fellowship is the most interesting day for fellows. we get to meet physically and get to interact, build relationships and communication skills, play the wager and HOH(head of house) games, and most importantly network with one another. Also, Amazing mentors and guest speakers are present to engage and impact us with valuable skills.

f.jpg

a.jpg

1_kbtK5KBC1dpRyDOLsUQh0w.jpeg My experience so far is amazing. special shoutout to the programs coordinator - Mr. Shamsuddin and the tech support team who go out of their way most times to help us fellows. Thanks a lot for sticking around and reading my article.

I will be back with more articles, tutorials, and my TIIDElab experience 2.0 in the coming weeks. Thank you for reading. Thanks for reading this far,

I would like to connect with you.

Below are my social media links.

LinkedIn: linkedin.com/in/armstrong-enefola

Twitter: @presidentstrong